2 cars to 1 ZS EV - Hi from a potential new owner

shikoku14

Established Member
Reaction score
Driving
Hi all,

first off great forum, I’ve been stalking it the past couple of days back reading threads and have enjoyed the good nature of the conversation.

Ive been driving EVs since 2018 and in that time I’ve had a 30kWh Kia Soul on a two year lease, a Nissan Leaf 24kWh that replaced our second car that I traded in for an e-Golf last September (at the time I was an original deposit holder for a ZS EV but was swayed by the deals on the Golf). However thanks to the lease running out on the Soul in April (should have ended in July but cancelled early due to COVID-19) I thought I’d still need two cars, a mate had a 10 year old BMW 320D Touring that had been parked up a fair few months after he’d got a company car that I got for buttons, but yeah 10 year old BMW Diesel is not really my scene, but it would do me a few months till we had a better steer on the virus and it’s implications, and work as an effective tip wagon (when the tip opened post lockdown)

Well for me and my wife the implications are we won’t be commuting 10 and 30 miles each way (in the opposite direction) into our offices in Leeds and Manchester for the considerable future, in fact I can see me full time working from home. So we don’t need two cars. Now I could just sell the BMW and not loose any money on what I paid my mate, but have to say as a single car the e-Golf has a few issues due to luggage capacity and 40kW charge speeds on CCS compared to the ZS if we want to do 150 mile+ round trips.

So as daft as this sounds i’m taking the wife (and 4 year old) for a test drive over the weekend and thanks to swappage and a pretty decent trade in offer on the e-Golf I could well be swapping into a ZS after all, it was 1 year since I had a very early test drive over at Chorley with Miles.