7 Pin Charge Port Waterproof Cover Missing on New MG4 Trophy ?

Johnwillie4491

Novice Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG4 SE SR
Hi, Newbie here. Got my new MG4 Trophy a few days ago. When charging for the first time I noticed that there is a removable Waterproof Plug Bung covering the Lower ( DC ) Port but no removable Waterproof Cover on the Upper ( AC ) 7 Pin Port, although there appears to be a hole provided to locate a Retaining Strap, next to the existing Retaining Strap for the DC Bung. I'm wondering if there should be a Rubber Bung provided there as it seems to me that it would give desirable extra waterproofing protection to the 7 Pin ( AC ) when washing the car. I can't find any mention of this topic in other threads,so far. Thanks for reading.
7 Pin Charge Port W:P Cover Missing ?.jpeg

Some other models (e.g. ZS) also have a Type 2 cover because the charge port is on the nose of the car, so water may get forced into the port area due to wind speed (e.g. the car driving into rain). On the MG4 the port is on the side of the car so less prone to such an issue.

The outer flap is your waterproofing.
There is no bung on the Type 2 part of the socket, because if the outer flap is open, the charge cable will be inserted.
The DC pins have a bung because you don't always rapid charge.
Thank you for the info.

Some other models (e.g. ZS) also have a Type 2 cover because the charge port is on the nose of the car, so water may get forced into the port area due to wind speed (e.g. the car driving into rain). On the MG4 the port is on the side of the car so less prone to such an issue.
Thankx for that.

Hey, it looks like you have a 3 phase MG4 for 11kW charging, what type2 cable have you got?
I believe my charging cable is a standard Single Phase, 7kW version, which I had to buy elsewhere as the car was supplied with only a Granny Charger.