Auto dimming mirror

Paulie68

Prominent Member
Reaction score
Driving
Not an MG
Finally got this installed today:

Mirror.jpg

It also displays internal temperature in the corner, (can also show external, but the comfort 2 update has saved me having to wire an external sensor!) can you spot the temperature probe?

Sensor.jpg

If you can't see it, it's in the top card slot, near the left hand side. :) It does mean I can't use the top slot, but I don't use either anyway! This is the best location for internal temperature, mid height and it doesn't get the sun on it giving a false high reading on sunny days.

Apart from front fog lights, the car is nearly how I want it now :)

@Paulie68,
Hi. Was this a DIY job or a spec tech job. Sound excellent.
Please share all the details.

Hmm... I suppose it depends on your level of ability lol!! It was a simple job for me, but I have extensive auto electrical experience and technical abilities. Might not be for others. It's certainly not an off the shelf solution, you need to source the correct adapter to mate the new mirror to the original mount, modify the sensor array cover to accommodate the wiring, then run the wiring across under the head lining and down under the A pillar trim. A suitable +12v positive that's only on when the car is powered up can be taken from the loom feeding the mirror control switch. Annoyingly, there is no suitable +12v to be had under the interior light/sunroof control panel.

If anyone wants to do this, drop me a line and I'll point you to the right parts and advise on which wires you need to tap into.

Not a job for me then!! :oops: Well done on sorting it out, I admire your technical skill.

I did manage to install my dash-cam though.:)...I have to admit....it was via a USB plug...not hard wired, but it works fine fine.o_O

Last edited:
@Paulie68 and @Chrispydoc,
You guys are far far ahead of me technically. You are doing an excellent job.