• We are having a problem with new Hotmail members being unable to receive activation emails. Please avoid using a Hotmail email address. Thanks.

chargeplace scotland app - worst software ever or is it just me?

symcbean

Standard Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG ZS EV
Just picked up my ZS EV today (fortunately fully charged) and loving it.

But now I'm thinking about what happens when it needs recharged.

I signed up to chargeplace Scotland on the 11th August, requesting an RFID card but the card has not shown up yet. I've downloaded the app on my phone - a Huawei P20 lite (8 core ARM). This claims that I can start a charging session from the app, but the software appears to be an ergonomic disaster on a truly epic scale.

By profession I design and manage complex software systems - so I don't think my failures so far reflect a lack of understanding on my part - but I would be happy to be proved wrong.

Every time I open the map, it shows an area of around 3000 km2. I need to manually zoom to my current location to have any hope of identifying a nearby charger.
1630089033986.png

If I close the app and go back, the zoom has reset. Pressing the re-centre button also resets the zoom. The manual zoom is not without issue either - although my phone is fast enough for all the other apps I use, it gets confused when its trying to render the map at the same time I'm still zooming and mis-interprets the touch gestures as pan/scroll so when the rendering eventually catches up with a backlog of events it is drawing a region a hundred miles away from where I intended to be.

Still, at least if I have already found a charger, then all I need to do is type in its number in the "Find a charger" text box?

Unfortunately no. While selecting this does indeed open up a keyboard, nothing I type appears in the text box.