• We are having a problem with new Hotmail members being unable to receive activation emails. Please avoid using a Hotmail email address. Thanks.

Charging Advice - New EV Owner

Theonlydavo

Standard Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG ZS EV
Hi Everyone,

I'm a new EV owner with my Trophy long range I picked up last week. I'm just getting into the 30% charge left range from 100% in the week I've had it.

I was just wondering what the general consensus is do I:

Let I run down to 10% then back to 80% at home.

Or

Just top it up regularly to 80% using free public charging opportunities where available?

Just thinking it terms of battery maintenance vs free charging and just wanted to see how EV veterans go about it.

Apologies if this has been discussed before.

Thanks,

Theonlydavo

I think people will have their own preferences based on their use case. If my car ever turns up, I'll likely keep it between 30-70% initially and adjust from there depending on how my mileage goes. I also plan to use any free charging opportunities I come across.

Have a read of these, there are some useful comments there:

I go for 80-90% depending on summer or winter, then if I get a charge fail I can still do my commute. I only use my four hour night slot.
If you use the 'granny' then thats a few hours from 10-90%.

I go for 80-90% depending on summer or winter, then if I get a charge fail I can still do my commute. I only use my four hour night slot.
If you use the 'granny' then thats a few hours from 10-90%.
When you have a larger pack and are running with a limited "Off Peak" tariff of around 4 hours, then this where having a wall box can really pay off.
A 7 kw wall box will supply you with roughly 25 miles of extra range, for every hour you are on charge.
So, with a 4 hour limited "Off - Peak" tariff, you are only able to grab about 100 miles of extra range, even on a wallbox.