• We are having a problem with new Hotmail members being unable to receive activation emails. Please avoid using a Hotmail email address. Thanks.

Charging battery to full on regular basis or allow it to go down to 5 percent before topping up

dido

Standard Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG4 SE SR
Hi,
I am new to the EV driving and charging.
Will be collecting my MG4 Long Range next week. I got a home charger fitted and waiting for the car.
I have a rather long commute to work about 120 mile both ways, on average 3m per kWh I expect about 40 kWh consumption each day.
Should I plug in the car on arrival to top up or should I regularly allow it to drain before topping up.
What's recommend for battery life etc.

No need to drain modern batteries to keep them healthy, those days are done.

Recommendations for the LR car are a monthly 100% charge to balance and when range is needed, otherwise charge to 80% as often as you like.

Ian beat me to it! 😁
I'd be tempted to charge to 80% at each end of your journey which will give you enough range for diversions etc. and then to do a balance charge once a month.

Charge the car up to 100% on delivery as this will do a battery balancing charge.

The battery in the LR and Trophy does not like charging to 100% regularly. Most charges should be to 80% and only to 100% every couple weeks to make it do a balance charge.

The infotainment battery screen actually calls the top 20% “long journey” mode.

Personally im going to infrequently charge mine without putting 5-10% in wherever possible. Id suggested keeping charge cycles down will be better for battery life

Personally im going to infrequently charge mine without putting 5-10% in wherever possible. Id suggested keeping charge cycles down will be better for battery life
Does that make a difference? I thought modern BMSes made that unnecessary, but I will bow to your expertise, I am not a battery engineer.