• We are having a problem with new Hotmail members being unable to receive activation emails. Please avoid using a Hotmail email address. Thanks.

Equalising charge

DON

Established Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG4 SE SR
Hi all as a low mileage user I only top the battery up to 80% about every 3 weeks does anyone know when or how often you should charge to 100% and let the battery equalise ?

Which version do you have? LR models are recommended for 100% / BMS balance once a month; SR models (with the LFP battery pack) are recommended to be done weekly.

I would let it balance every other charge so every six weeks. How long would it stay at 100% until you use it?

Use car most days but only short trips at the moment, will do more longer trips in the summer.

Which version do you have? LR models are recommended for 100% / BMS balance once a month; SR models (with the LFP battery pack) are recommended to be done weekly.
Hello siteguru,
I am new to EVs and have purchased a MG4 SE SR. How do I balance the battery? I tend to charge the battery back to nearly 100% overnight. My journey per day is roughly 40 mile round-trip which I am able to recharge overnight with a 3-pin plug charger (1.8kW). Is this a good thing to do, or not?

You need to be able to leave it so that it reaches 100% and then has a few hours to be able do a balance - maybe at the weekend?

If the car is at 100%, how much more electricity does the balancing take?
It’s a potential expense I didn’t consider I’d need on my SR.
The 4 x cheap night hours I get suited both the leafs I’ve had since 2015 just fine, having to overrun those and go onto peak electricity would be annoying.

If the car is at 100%, how much more electricity does the balancing take?
It’s a potential expense I didn’t consider I’d need on my SR.
The 4 x cheap night hours I get suited both the leafs I’ve had since 2015 just fine, having to overrun those and go onto peak electricity would be annoying.