• We are having a problem with new Hotmail members being unable to receive activation emails. Please avoid using a Hotmail email address. Thanks.

Granny charger charge rates

gus

Established Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG ZS EV
I have had the MG ZS EV Trophy LR for a couple of months now and had a wall box fitted before it arrived so I haven’t used the granny charger, I thought I had better test it before I go away for a week into dubious charger territory.

The car display is showing 5A charging current, and the app shows just under 2kW, are these figures what you would expect? I have it in my head it should be closer to 10A and 3kW, but I have never used a granny charger before. 😀

8516CF8F-4B9A-432A-A493-114681798380.jpeg
8503352C-06EF-4455-991F-AED7D468F96A.jpg

Sounds about right, not used a granny charger but think they give 1.2kw , (5amp x 230v =1.15kw), 3kw would be 13amp.
3kw on a plug top is a bit much, unlike a heater or kettle which only pulls 3kw for short or sporadic periods, the charger pulls maximum current continuously .

Between 1.75kwh and 2.10kwh I get when charging. 60-67 miles roughly in about 7 hours 30 I've had the last few nights

Thanks everyone, much appreciated 👏. Glad I had the wall box fitted but the granny charger will be useful when I head off to an area that doesn’t appear to have too much charging infrastructure shown on the various apps.

Glad I had the wall box fitted but the granny charger will be useful when I head off to an area that doesn’t appear to have too much charging infrastructure shown on the various apps.
I agree !.
I never carry my "Granny" lead around in the boot of the car, unless I am travelling to a location for a few days ( e.g. - Mid Wales for one ) where I know the charging infrastructure is going to be absolutely "Pant's".
I will also pack a electrical extension lead that is suitably rated for the "Granny" charger.