Granny Charging

Johnmg5

Standard Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG5
Hi
Newbie here
Can someone explain about using the granny charger on the MG5. I Keep seeing that it is not recommended for full time charging I was under the impression that it is far better to charge
lithium ion batteries slower rather than using fast charging
Is the main issue not the car but if the electrics or the wiring for the 3pin plug can't take the Loading or the heat etc
Plus for me the time it would take is not a issue
Cheers
John

Hi,
There are a few threads on here about 'granny' EVSE.
You tend to need them on for 10-14 hours to get from 20-90% so the plug top and an old socket can get warm. They do not have earth protection. They draw about 10A 2.2kw so not good on cheap extension cables.
What sort of milage do you do?

Hi
About 60 miles per week plus once every 3 week around trip of 340 miles
Cheers John

Don't get confused between fast chargers and DC rapid chargers. A 7kW AC fast charger will not damage the batteries. It's the big 50kW+ rapid chargers that will degrade the batteries quicker.

If you intend to use the granny there's a couple of things you should check. The charger pulls a moderately high power (about 2.3kw) for a long time so make sure the socket it's plugging into is in good condition and any extension lead is heavy duty and also in good nick. The cable from the socket will get warm but should not be hot (sign of bad contacts or wrong rated cable)
I charge my car up most days using one and it's fine. The figure for charging say 18 hours!!! but remember that's from flat which you will never be. If my car is lower than say 50% I'll top up a bit on DC and then use the granny to finish the job overnight.

I do high mileage, upwards of 200 miles most days so have to charge a lot and it's handy being able to set off with 100% in the morning.