Home charger

Mickser

Established Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG4 Trophy LR
Hi I live in Dublin and have a exclusive mg4 ordered,can someone recommend a home charger and company to supply and fit,thanks

If you‘ve already got solar/battery storage or are thinking to install it, then I recommend getting a MyEnergi Zappi. They can give an installation quote as well, though I’m not sure if this only applies to the UK or not: MyEnergi Zappi
No solar,looking for a Dublin company to supply and fit ,government grant of 600 euro as part payment, just wondering what other Dublin/Irish members went for regarding company's to install

Many people exclusively use the granny charger

Especially if only need to charge every week or so
Mg states granny is a emergency option, I work for a living so need car charged at a bit more pace

Mg states granny is a emergency option, I work for a living so need car charged at a bit more pace
I’m going to keep it 100% charged and it will only go down to 80% after a well or two

Maybe only charge once every two weeks

I only use a granny charger with 16 amps. Also overnight. The hottest spot was the cable above the socket. It got up to 16 degrees Celsius, which is nothing. Of course that doesn't mean everyone else is safe as well. 😅 But don't believe all the horror stories either. Just give it a good test run and be careful, like check the socket and cables for warmth the first few times.

I only use a granny charger with 16 amps. Also overnight. The hottest spot was the cable above the socket. It got up to 16 degrees Celsius, which is nothing. Of course that doesn't mean everyone else is safe as well. 😅 But don't believe all the horror stories either. Just give it a good test run and be careful, like check the socket and cables for warmth the first few times.

16amps? Thats with a blue industrial type 16a outlet?

Otherwise you are massively overloading the 13a plug and the 13a fuse inside it.