Battery range dropped

pg1759

Standard Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG ZS EV
Hi Everyone,

Potentially dumb question incoming!

I’m brand new to EV’s, having got my MG ZS EV in March this year. When I first got the car it was charged to 100% and was displaying a range of around 190 miles. I generally found that there or there about, this is what I got back out of it.

In the last 3 weeks or so, I now charge the car to 100% and the most I get showing is around 140 miles.

Whats changed? Is this based on the temperature of the battery now, compared to the warmer weather? It’s not that cold yet so I’m still confused.

Any advice welcome

Hi very probably you have answer your own question, got your car in March so you have had a summer that’s fine and warm great for range, now it’s getting cold your range will drop back because it’s colder, plus you will now be using the heater more to keep you warm and demising the windows, all as quite an effect on how far you can go on a Charge, that’s the same with all EVs maybe if you drive a bit slower and not to much on the loud pedal, also use your Regen as much as you can you might well bring the range back by 20/30 miles.

I’m not saying you are driving to fast or anything like that but it does help, the difference between driving at 65 instead of 70 can make a lot of difference in range, now the weather is colder the heater does use a fair bit,so try using the seat heaters if you have them to keep you warm they don’t use hardly anything.
Good luck
Les

Last edited:
Potentially dumb question incoming!
Hi @pg1759 and welcome to the forum !.
Remember, the only “dumb” question, is the one that is never asked, my friend !.
Les has pretty much covered it all !in his post really.
Just a couple of things worth checking / considering also.
Is it safe to assume you have a standard range model of the ZS EV Gen 2 model then.
And that you charge to 100% SOC every single time you arrive home from work then ?.