RFID Cards, Phones Apps, multiple accounts for this n that for public charge points: What Are The Basics?

Mach13

Established Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG HS PHEV
Hello all...So i'm new to EV's and have recently taken delivery of an MG HS PHEV Plugin.

Now I know public charging with a PHEV isn't going to be much of an issue for me, but I would like to try and get my head around what options are going to be available. I've started to notice charge points around car parks n stuff, but I'm not clear about how to use/pay for them. I found some in a local car park with QR codes to Clenergy.com are these well known?

So here are my questions on the basics:
  1. Do you really have to have an account, card or app for every EV charging supplier permutation there is out there?
  2. I've seen comments about 'Free Chargers' do you need an app to use them too?
  3. As a gauge do you mind saying how many charging Apps/RFID Cards do you have on your phone?
  4. The 'Clenergy one' I mentioned seems to have a pre-payment top-up option is that usual?
  5. I've also seen stuff about 'Affiliations' what's that about?
  6. RFID Cards - How do these work and do you need multiples of these too?
  7. What generally is the pricing range of £ per kwh?
  8. What's the best price you've found £per kwh and with whom?
Soz.. lots of questions.... Comments will be welcome

Last edited:
Hi
could I ask you nearest town or village.

you have free charge at McDonald’s at the roundabout on the A47 at Blofield. Down load the Pod point App.

Ok
on this pod point you can get free charge but you need to register with them as you have to confirm your pluged in, if you do not it will stop after 15 minute. I also got a shell Recharge fob and account which I use.
If you use a bank or credit card at these chargers with out a account you can have a charge taken from your account plus the charging cost. Some time these card charges can take some time to come back to your account.