Applegreen charger issues

sonny

Novice Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG5
Newbie here. Had an MG5 LR Exclusive for about a month now. Generally charge at home using Zapi 7kw charger. Never had any issues.

Have used Gridserve charger a couple of weeks ago, went smoothly.

On Thursday I was at South Mimms, just off M25. Attempted to use the Applegreen chargers. A few were out of order. The others had blank screens, but after plugging in and tapping contactless payment the car was showing as plugged in but not charging. £35 transaction fee was taken out of bank. Waited several minutes, but nothing happened, not charging. There were a number of Applegreen chargers here, so tried another one but got the same issue. Another guy turned up in an MG5 and had the same issue.

The other guy then said his car had developed a system fault and wouldn’t start!

My car then developed the same fault, something about HV Battery fault (I didn’t note the exact failure). Rang the Applegreen support number, but they just said the chargers should be working. I told them about the faults to the two cars. They said they would ring me back, but never did!

Eventually after locking the car, moving away, waiting a few mins, the system fault went away. The other driver was also able to start his car and drive off.

Other cars seemed to be able to charge using some of the Applegreen chargers, but a few other drivers of other cars were having issues.

Eventually one of the two Gridserve chargers (one was out of order!) became free and I was able to start charging, but this was after faffing about for nearly two hours!

Anyone else had any issues with the Applegreen chargers?

No idea how old the chargers you were trying are but, up here in Scotland there are some (8-10 yr old) chargers that will not work with the MG5. I'm told it's because they were designed to charge batteries of around the 15-20kwh range and don't like the higher resistance in bigger batteries.