Can you turn on the heating remotely from the app while the car is also charging from AC?

MeowFi

Standard Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG5
Hi, I'm new to my MG5 and this forum, so please give me some grace if this has been asked a thousand times already.

I would like to be able to turn on the car heating before I set of on a journey while the car is still on charge, therefore not draining any charge from that battery. However, I am unable to do this using the MG iSmart app.

If I request the heating on, while charging, it won't let me. If I stop the charging (using the app) and then turn on the heating, it works. Turn the charging back on and the heating turns off.

Is this just how it works, or am I doing something wrong, or is the car not working as it should?

For clarity, its a face lift 2023 MG5 long range and I'm using the Granny charger. Its a Trophy model.

Regards
Dave

Welcome to the forum Dave
Yes, unfortunately that’s the way it works; in order to pre-heat you need to stop the charging process, once started, pre-heating works for 10min and then the car continues charging until it reaches the SOC limit set in iSMART.
Mickey

We have a ZS EV LR ( facelift ) - When the car has completed it's charging session at about 5.00am using the "Off Peak Rate" it is still plugged into the wall box via the type 2 cable.
If at 8.00am I then turn on the "A/C Blowing" function via the App to heat the cabin, it will restart the charging process via our wall box.

We have a ZS EV LR ( facelift ) - When the car has completed it's charging session at about 5.00am using the "Off Peak Rate" it is still plugged into the wall box via the type 2 cable.
If at 8.00am I then turn on the "A/C Blowing" function via the App to heat the cabin, it will restart the charging process via our wall box.
Same with the MG5, using pre-heat will override the charging schedule set by the car/ismart and will charge until SOC is reached afterwards.