chargers away from home

judithhogg

Novice Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG ZS EV
Hello I’m new to Evs. Why am I only getting 39kW when at a 175kW charger. Same at the next one too?

Last edited by a moderator:
Is this a mk1 ZS?
You won't get the full 175kW as the car can't take that much i thought it would be over 50kW though.

it could be that the charger is cold, give it a few minutes and it should speed up, the batteries in your car may be cold, again, give it time to warm up. max charge rate for a Mk2 is only something silly like 75kW (might be 90, I can't remember which) and that is usually only up until you reach about 80% SOC where it drastically dials back the power so you don't blow up your batteries.

In short, there are many reasons why a charger might not be giving your car the max rate it can take, obviously don't rule out charger fault and load balancing if they have multiple outlets and multiple vehicles charging at once.

Last edited by a moderator:
I've been noticing past few days that my MG ZS LR has been charging very slow. I have had the battery heater on. Brought it at a low state of charge and only hitting 57 or 58KW. Its becoming a bit annoying. The Kona I had before regardless of temperature would rocket up to peak charging as soon as I would connect it at low state of charge. Its getting frustrating as I rely solely on public charging. Car is still new with 4k miles only.

As you can see in the picture its a 175KW charger and the amps are not increasing.

Attachments

• 20221207_224555.jpg
    20221207_224555.jpg
    262.4 KB · Views: 94
It can be the charger, not the car. Even in ideal conditions in summer, connected to a 120KW charger, the rate was 50KW. A quick check on ZAP map comments, showed that this was common and that this particular bank of chargers didn't always deliver anywhere near their claimed rate

I did say "ideal" because as others have mentioned, temperature and state of charge, are also big factors