Considering purchasing the MG 5

lebelinconnu

Established Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG5
Hi everyone, I am the current owner of a 5.5 year old 30kwh Nissan Leaf and am considering a new MG5. I am a teacher so will qualify for the affinity scheme and have found a dealer who is prepared to do business with me. The car seems to tick all the right boxes as regards range and the size of the boot/ rear leg room etc. and online reviews seem pretty positive.
Having read many posts on this very helpful forum, I have been slightly concerned by a minority of posters who have experienced battery faults. I realise this would be covered under the warranty but it would obviously be very disruptive. I would love to hear from anyone who has had this issue- how long did it take to resolve, were you provided with an alternative vehicle, did the fault occur at home or at a public charging point? I would be doing the vast majority of my charging at home if that helps. I currently don't have a home charger but would be aiming to get one installed.
I have been ultra cautious ever since purchasing a used Ford Focus in 2013 which had a major engine fault (head gasket) 2 weeks after I had bought the vehicle in a private sale. I was guilty of not doing sufficient research before this purchase as the model in question had a high rate of engine failure (trying to get too many BHP out of a 1.0 engine!) but I hadn't realised this fact! I understand purchasing a new EV is a completely different kettle of fish, but I have always done extremely thorough research ever since!!
Many thanks for any insights you can offer.