Dock to dealer delivery time

Geoffers

Standard Member
Reaction score
I'm a newbie here so treat me gently!

I have had an MG5 LR on order since mid November. I had an email in late Feb from the dealer saying my car would be available from 1st March. Well it wasn't! I have contacted them many times since and they are assuring me that the car is in the country but awaiting delivery. In their last message to me they say it can take anything from 3 to 12 days for delivery and they have no way of tracking it. Surely the dealers have some sort of manifest/schedule of all their orders? I realise there could be a lot of cars at the dock to clear and limited transporters but surely there is a plan, a system of distribution or am I being naive?

Anyone got the lowdown on how it works?

I have had an MG5 LR on order since mid November. I had an email in late Feb from the dealer saying my car would be available from 1st March. Well it wasn't! I have contacted them many times since and they are assuring me that the car is in the country but awaiting delivery. In their last message to me they say it can take anything from 3 to 12 days for delivery and they have no way of tracking it. Surely the dealers have some sort of manifest/schedule of all their orders? I realise there could be a lot of cars at the dock to clear and limited transporters but surely there is a plan, a system of distribution or am I being naive?

I'm in a similar position, just being told it'll be this month

Clearance through customs can add delays, can usually take a week to 10 days if everything goes smoothly

Mine (and few few others) landed at the wrong place (Southampton IIRC) back in Nov (@EVsince2016 will remember details). Took quite a few weeks to reach me as it had to be taken to Bristol for whatever the regular import procedures are then onto the dealer then PDI then me.