First long journey - range anxiety help!

FelicityB

Standard Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG ZS EV
Hello, I've had my EV since December but due to lockdowns haven't been very far. Next week I am going from Berkshire to Northampton, a journey of 120 miles, and then back again the same day. I'm already worrying about it due to charging. Looking at Zap map, the rapid chargers on the route are few and far between (there's 2), and they're frequently not working. I'm so worried about arriving at a charger and it not working, then not having enough charge to get me to the next one.
So, any tips please to help me! I'm very new to all this so any advice is gratefully received. I know I should drive at a steady 60-65mph.

Take your granny charger with you and see if you can charge at your destination, before coming home. Also, don't rely on using rapid chargers only - if you're stopping for lunch, even topping up at a 7Kw is better than nothing!

I don't know the route you've chosen but is there an alternative with more charging points (even if it's longer, it may help)? Using an expensive motorway charger is better than getting a lift on the back of a truck!

Good luck!

Cheers

Bloggsy

Hello, I've had my EV since December but due to lockdowns haven't been very far. Next week I am going from Berkshire to Northampton, a journey of 120 miles, and then back again the same day. I'm already worrying about it due to charging. Looking at Zap map, the rapid chargers on the route are few and far between (there's 2), and they're frequently not working. I'm so worried about arriving at a charger and it not working, then not having enough charge to get me to the next one.
So, any tips please to help me! I'm very new to all this so any advice is gratefully received. I know I should drive at a steady 60-65mph.