HVAC Using HyChill in airconditioning

FarmEV

Novice Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG ZS EV
G'day,

Has anyone had experience using any drop in replacement air conditioning gas?

I have been using HyChill for a few years in various cars and other things & find it great. This ZS EV was R134a but I note that some are 1234y gas which is also a hydrocarbon base gas like HyChill.

The point to replacing R134a is greater efficiency, access to product, better environmental consequences of the gas.

Regards,

FarmEV

Presently in the U.K. we are struggling to find the money to keep ourselves warm ! 🤣.
Keeping cool is the last thing on most people’s minds here the U.K. at the moment 🥶.
You are in summer time now “ Down Under”.

Presently in the U.K. we are struggling to find the money to keep ourselves warm ! 🤣.
Keeping cool is the last thing on most people’s minds here the U.K. at the moment 🥶.
You are in summer time now “ Down Under”.
Yes correct (...and loving it!). However this should also be relevant to the cold people as the battery is cooled by A/C chilling the coolant for the battery.

FarmEV

Are they unique to Australia?
Not as far as I am aware. Worldwide manufacturers appear to be moving to hydrocarbon based A/C gasses. I was surprised that this ZSEV was still R134a. I am sure I saw a specification somewhere stating R1234y which is a hydrocarbon based gas and what I would expect in a modern vehicle.

FarmEV

Purely for warranty reasons I'll stick with the manufacturers recommended gas

Not as far as I am aware. Worldwide manufacturers appear to be moving to hydrocarbon based A/C gasses. I was surprised that this ZSEV was still R134a. I am sure I saw a specification somewhere stating R1234y which is a hydrocarbon based gas and what I would expect in a modern vehicle.

FarmEV
I actually meant was the company you quoted active only in Australia.