Little accident happened

apzs

Established Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG ZS EV
Hey all,

So last week Saturday I had a small accident. Was sitting in a one way two lane traffic jam. A van driver behind me seemed to be in a hurry and tried to squeeze in between my car and a parked car on my right and scratched the back bumper and quarter panel.

I don't think this should be worth going with the insurance. Anyone else had such a scratch and how do I get it repaired? It's my first time this has happened so I am a bit new to it. I don't know what it should cost. I got a quote from chipaway and they said its about £280. Is that correct?

I'm attaching two pictures one on the day of the accident and the second is from yesterday. Paint seems to have healed or something. 🤔

Second picture shows a few black spots but it's hard to see until you zoom in or come close to the car.

I live in South London so would love if I could get some recommendations for companies that could fix this for me.

Attachments

• 20230603_140401.jpg
    20230603_140401.jpg
    515.2 KB · Views: 137
  • 20230605_150001.jpg
    20230605_150001.jpg
    377.4 KB · Views: 135
If you got the van drivers details then I would go through insurance. As you were stationary at the time you cannot be at fault. Dashcam is always a good idea in situations like this. Similar thing happened to me a few years back and the dashcam proved I was stationary so the other guys insurance had to pay up. :)

Shame it’s just caught the rear quarter.
Is that just white paint transfer from the van, or has the scratch broken through the paint ?.
A lot of that white paint transfer can be easily removed with a machine polisher.
The quarter is the issue here if the paint is broken due to the possible on set of rust developing.
The bumper cover is plastic of course.
If the quarter needs paint, then you need somebody who can do a really good smart repair.