Looped supply?

Gstathers

Standard Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG ZS EV
I am looking at having a home install of an eV charger. I would like to ask the community for a second opinion on the attached photo. I don't believe it is a looped supply as single supply cable split. One side to dno meter the other to a pme. Anyone have any other thoughts on this? Any advice is greatly appreciated

Attachments

• 20230502_205727.jpg
    20230502_205727.jpg
    230.9 KB · Views: 158
  • 20230502_205757.jpg
    20230502_205757.jpg
    188.9 KB · Views: 125
I am no expert but mine is like that and it is not a looped supply. Looped would have a totally separate cable coming out.

It looks like one incoming cable but split before the fuse carrier.
You could be the second house at the end of the looped supply.

I think this explains the incoming cable splitting into two. The Neutral and Earth wires are combined within the supply cable. Typically this will be a concentric cable, with the live as the central core, and a ring of wires around this for the combined neutral and earth.
At the property, the Neutral and Earth are separated, with the earth terminal usually being on the side of the cutout. Inside the cutout, the earth and neutral are linked.

The DNO will know if it's a looped supply or not. My house had a single cable, but I was on the end of the loop...
Try looking on here, i signed up And a few days later i received a copy of the electrical layout for roughly 100m radius from my house.
It will show the run of the cables

When looking at the photo, why is there a square shaped hole in the front of the service head ???.
There is a PME sticker suggesting the grounding system, on the front of the service head, but I think this window / hole should be covered purely as a mater of safety ???.

I have no idea I'm afraid. I have an electrician over tomorrow so will ask him 👌
There should be NO areas that could be accessed by any little fingers.