MG ZS EV VIN Number Check

nomadbob1

Novice Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG ZS EV
Morning,
I'm a fleet manager and we have recently added an MG ZS EV Lux to our fleet.
The driver is reporting range issues, so I have taken the car to trial it.
I usually drive a Hyundai Ioniq EV and have averaged 4.2 miles/kW over the 31k miles I have driven it.
The MG appears to struggle to reach to 2.5 miles/kW on the same journeys, being driven in the same manner by myself.
On a full charge, the car is stating a range of 160 miles at present.
It is supposed to be a Long Range, but I'm not sure how to check if it is or not.
Scrolling through the menu, I found under vehicle information that the car is noted as ZS EV LUX, with VIN of LSJW74099PZ222360.
Is there anyone who have a Long Range who can check what the vehicle information shows their car as ?
Should the Long Range be noted on there ?
Is there a way of checking the VIN to see if the car is actually a Long Range ?

Given that the range of 160 miles could be accurate for this time of year for a "normal" battery vehicle, I'm wondering if perhaps the vehicle we have been supplied is not actually a Long Range.

We have the car booked into the local dealer next month for a health check, but I like to do my own fact finding rather than rely upon often ill-informed service departments.

Any assistance would be appreciated, Bob.

Hi there, and welcome to a brilliant forum.

Some simple maths will answer your question.

You are getting 2.5 miles per kWh, which in winter is relatively normal. If you multiply that by the 68kWh usable battery, it gives you 170 miles.

I also had an Ioniq, which is a bit of an "air knife" when it comes to cutting through the air. :)

Last edited:
I think you are comparing Apples with Oranges.
A short term assessment in the middle of Winter doesn't represent average yearly consumption.
I'm getting low 3.x at the moment on my MG5 but my whole year average for 2023 was 4.3.