Mode and KERS setting thoughts

rogerco

Established Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG5
Having driven my original SR 25k miles over 2 years I often find myself musing as I drive on how the drive mode and KERS settings are actually implemented (I used to be a software engineer / system and HCI designer)

If I was building it with the spec to do what it does I think I would keep it simple.

Firstly for driving mode (sport|normal|eco) I think all that has to be done is adjust the sensitivity (gain) on the accelerator. ie change the amount of power applied for each degree of rotation of the pedal. No change to the max power that can be achieved, just in sport mode you need a smaller movement for a given change.

Secondly for the KERS modes I think that when releasing the pedal the point at which kers begins to be applied is shifted. ie apply an offset to the the accelerator position when power is being decreased (no change when pressing down, only when releasing pressure)

Zero kers only happens when the state of charge is over 96% and then all of the braking has to be mechanical and there is no offset. In all other modes applying the brake pedal starts by using kers and when that runs out uses physical braking.

I suspect that in kers 1 there is no offset so kers is only used when applying the brake (the power meter doesn't go into the blue until you apply the brake). In kers 2 and 3 there is an offset on releasing the accelerator so that kers starts to be used at some point before you take the foot off the pedal. There is no change to the brake pedal operation.