• We are having a problem with new Hotmail members being unable to receive activation emails. Please avoid using a Hotmail email address. Thanks.

Need granny cable. Which one?

heidifuss

Novice Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG5
Newbie here so basic info needed, but can't find it!
Just purchased 2021 MG5. Didnt come with granny cable so need to purchase one, but very confusing info online.

Think I need 3 pin to type 2 (?). Want to be able to slow charge as this is best for battery life (I think).

Also where is good to buy? Halfords, Screwfix, ev king etc?

Thanks in advance

You do realise just how slow charging on a granny cable will be? A chart I have shows it will charge approx. 7 miles for each hour it's plugged in. That may be very approximate but whatever, it's going to be slow, so if you are depending on significant mileage every day you'll be wanting to find a different method of charging.

But yes, its 3 pin to a type 2.

Here's an MG one on eBay, 2nd hand but might be OK - good price

EDIT you are sure there isn't one - from memory, in mine, it's in a modest size bag in the netting on the right hand side of the boot - could easily be missed.

As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Newbie here so basic info needed, but can't find it!
Just purchased 2021 MG5. Didnt come with granny cable so need to purchase one, but very confusing info online.

Think I need 3 pin to type 2 (?). Want to be able to slow charge as this is best for battery life (I think).

Also where is good to buy? Halfords, Screwfix, ev king etc?

Thanks in advance
If you got the car from an MG dealer then the granny should have been with it as they come with one when new.
Are you getting a home EVSE charge point installed?

Thanks for replies. We are awaiting installation of charging point and the car came with fast charger cable only. So looking for granny cable to use in meantime and also as backup.