Newbie here - thanks to all! (and a few questions...)

Tez

Novice Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG5
Hi folks!

I'm the proud owner of a "new" pre-FL LR Excite, registered in Nov 2022 but bought from the dealer with 4 miles on the clock! I've come from a (deep breath) BMW 2 Series Grand Tourer M Sport 220i DCT 7 Auto (!), which was giving me outstanding economy at about 24 MPG ;-). I've got virtually no EV experience (briefly owned a Golf GTE before I was burgled at knifepoint for the keys), and this site has been an exceptional source of info, so thanks to all!

I've only had the MG5 for a couple of days but so far I've noticed:

There are a couple of features the BMW had that the MG doesn't which I miss, but the MG has features the BMW didn't, which I'm loving!
Despite the BMW having quicker 0-60 on paper, the MG seems far nippier. Thought I'd open it up on a quiet road earlier, starting from about 20mph. Got wheel spin & the acceleration shocked me!
MG came with granny charger but no type 2. Thanks to posts on this forum I've ordered one.
Saw some posts RE only one USB working for data, the other just for charging. My left works for Android Auto & a music filled USB stick works in the right one, which is nice.

A few questions, answers to which I haven't managed to find on the forum:

1) Auto Main Beam: If activated in the console, does it just come on automatically, or do I need to turn full beam on manually & wait for the system to turn it off when detecting oncoming? Can't seem to find any mention in the manual.
2) Does anyone have experience of upholstery protection, either pro firms applying or doing it yourself? I've got 4 year old twins.....
3) 12V battery: mine is showing between 14.3 & 12.5, around the middle of the dial, seems to fluctuate quite a bit. Is that normal or is it duff? Would it ever be expected to be above the mid point?