Norwegian skepticism

2of3

Established Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG5
I just wanted to be a good guy and post an update to the Norwegian MG ZS EV Facebook group. Everyone there was still stressing out about not getting 455v on their batteries. As we know, MG has lowered this to 450v on a full charge and I thought I'd share this info with my fellow Norwegians.

Most of the responds were people confirming that this was pretty much what they were getting and thanked me for the update.
BUT.
A good number of self appointed experts are claiming that there is no way MG could pull this off without sacrificing range. I tried my best to put forth what I have gleaned here about how MG has shaved a bit off the top end and slid it to the bottom thus giving you a bit more range before the car tells you it's empty (although I have little knowledge in the area, I understand that the car will shut down and call itself empty before the battery is truly flat). One of those "experts" told me that there was no way this was true and not bother trying to teach him anything about batteries cuz he knew all there was to know. Charming. MG can expect an angry email from this guy where he accuses them of trying to pull a fast one and rob us out of the promised range.

Rant aside, I do wish that this information was given to us when we pick up our car after the BMS update. I don't know if it was intentional or if the dealerships aren't aware of how hyper vigilant MG owners are about the nerdy stuff. I do wish for a bit more transparency from MG. An official statement along the lines of:
"This is the voltage you should have on a fully charged and balanced battery and no it won't effect your range and here's why"