Pick your brains re PV Battery storage, please.

Reaction score
Driving
MG ZS EV
Hello, all. This is mainly for UK residents, I suppose.

A few weeks ago, the podcast mentioned that some of you were benefiting from the capture via battery storage of electricity produced from PV cells.

Similar to my EV knowhow, I'm not technically blessed in this area, but would appreciate any advice, tips or recommendations about a good form of battery storage, where to get it and £? and if there are recommended installation companies.

Any help appreciated. Thanks.

I did look into this and to a certain degree it depends on how you live.

According to a Which report battery storage is only really viable (just) if the house is empty during the day and therefore you cannot make use of the PV output when the sun is out. Due to reduced output as a result of low sun angles and the sun to the west when most panels face south the evening light doesn't contribute that much.

As the benefits of battery storage are so borderline if as in my case the home is occupied during the day so you can make use of the PV then there is no point in the system. Although PV is good for 25 years (although I have had to replace the generation meter and put new relays in the inverter after 6 years) a battery system is only really good for about 10 years. So if a battery storage system is around £5000 (example only) you would have to benefit more than £500 per year just to break even.

In my situation if it wasn't for losing the FIT payment I would get better return from increasing the PV array.