The dashcam caused the car to go to safe mode and had to be towed... or?

electricbanana

Novice Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG ZS EV
Hi!
First of all, sorry for my bad english.
I have a problem and looking for some advice.

I have been driving this great car( MG ZS Ev-22) for the last 5 months, got it brand new and from the first day I connected a dashcam (522gw Nextbase) in the USB-port above the front window near the mirror.

Some weeks back something weird happened with the car, it got into a "safe mode" all warningslights started to blink and it could only be driven 25km/h to the nearest carpark and it got toed away to the car dealership.

Some weeks later I recied the car back and a bill on almost 300 pounds. The car dealership said that it was the dashcam who caused the problem and the warranty does not cover any usb-plugged devices.

I don't think they are telling the truth. The car was fully charger, both batteries. Been driving perfectly since start with the camera. And the dashcam was really expensive.

Have anyone of you heard or got a similar problem? What should I do?

Best regards from Sweden

This was the message which came up when it could only be driven 25km/h

Attachments

• qqqqqwaadaww.jpg
    qqqqqwaadaww.jpg
    166.7 KB · Views: 148
Very much doubt it was a dash cam in fact it's impossible as the usb port for it is just a power supply no data
I would ask for it in writing what did the DashCam actually do to the car definitely think this is just passing the butt also ask what work has been done what was replaced isn't it funny the only reason that usb port is there is for a DashCam but using a dashcam voids warranty it's very fishy

Maybe MG need a big yellow sticker over the usb port saying voids warranty if used 🤯
Screenshot_20230301-235230.png

Last edited:
Very odd ??.
The displays depicts that the car is in turtle 🐢 mode for sure, hence the lack / limit of power.
Strangely enough, the TPMS is displaying no tyre pressure readings either.