Typical 12v battery level?

welshlewy

Standard Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG5
I’ve had my mg5 LR for about two months, and I’m sat in it waiting to AA assist, as it’s broken down with a system fault, hv battery shut off fault. It seemed to be caused by a dodgy GeniePoint charger at Morrisons, which caused my 12v to go from 14.1 to 12.1. This got me wondering, as I’m new to EV ownership, is 14.1ish typical for this car, as that’s what it’s showed since I had it?
14CA5484-4DE5-4A41-9A22-D7AA826FD98C.jpeg

You should see just over 14 volts when the car is in the READY mode and it will then be charging the 12 volt battery, from the large HV traction battery.
In STANDBY mode, with everything turned off, you are likely to see just over 12 volts on the battery.
My ZS EV is standing on the drive right now and the App is reporting a voltage of 13.3 volts.
This is normally around the 13.1 volts mark and the lowest I have seen is 12.7 volts.

While you are waiting, try locking up the car and walking away.
Some cars have recovered on there own, in due course.
If not, the AA guy may try the old disconnect the 12 volt battery and wait 15 mins and then reconnect.
Or if his diag machine will talk to the car, there maybe a genetic code reset he can try to clear any codes that are stored.
All of these things have been used on other cars.
Failing that, its a trip to the dealer to reset the fault codes stored.
Some Morrisons charges have been highlighted as troublesome in the past.

Was this on a rapid charger and what percentage did you start and then finish on?
It was a rapid charger. But it didn’t even connect properly, the charger failed as it was trying to connect, which made me think it was the charger that messed it up.

This has come up as an issue previously usually where people have been sat in the car listening to their radio when charging.