Using a Granny Charger.

MichaelJHunt

Prominent Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG ZS EV
Just testing out the Granny Charger to make sure it works.

Charging at 2kW. With my 4.2miles/kWh this is charging at about 8.5 miles per hour.

Well impressed with that :)

63AF0EEB-037D-4FC2-BBC5-442727622617.jpeg

Last edited:
Apart from a few free charges at supermarkets, I have been using the granny for the last nine months. I was originally going to use money saved up to install a home charger but a few hefty dental bills due to moving and unable to get an NHS one and a hefty private operation to pay for in the near future, have put paid to being able to afford the installation any time soon!
Made sure that the outside 3-pin socket was fit for heavy duty appliances and that I used a heavy-duty extension before using the granny on a regular basis. Never do more than a 200mile round trip with most journeys far less. The granny will give me about 50miles in an evenings charging so plenty for me as now retired and not using the car too much.

My granny charger is crazy short. I've to pretty much park in beside the front door to reach a plug.

I'm not sure if extension leads are okay with it?

My granny charger is crazy short. I've to pretty much park in beside the front door to reach a plug.

Can you get a waterproof socket installed near where you park?

You can use a good rated ext cord without any problems. Also best to have a water proof socket on it. I have a 15 metre cable picked out for when my car finally arrives.

Last edited by a moderator:

I got this one from Screwfix ……….

MASTERPLUG 13A 1-GANG UNSWITCHED EXTENSION LEAD 10M (44635)

Its £17.64 at the moment. Very good buy. Never use an ordinary extension, this one is heavy-duty. Lots of EV owners have bought it from my extensive reading about the subject.