182 miles as a pickup journey without charging?

prefertobike

Standard Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG5
I'm picking up my new mg5 at the beginning of April. I'm a little nervous about charging as I've never used a public charger before. Do you think a fully charged mg5 could make the 182 mile trip without a recharge? (eco mode, max speed 60, and wooly hat if needs be!). Apart from the first recharge attempt I'm really looking forward to getting to the car!

Possibly pushing it a bit! A lot will depend on the weather. If it's cold, the wind is against you and it's raining, it's a big risk. In mild weather, on a windless, dry day or with the wind at your back, you'd be ok, provided you stick to that 60 max and don't use much heater.

Still think you'd be better trying a charger en route. There are lots of YouTube videos showing you how to use one and really, it's not that scary, or difficult.

Good luck, let us know how you get on. They really are great cars and you will enjoy the driving and the money you save.

Obviously make sure you have a Type 2 cable when you pick up the car as not all chargers en route will be tethered! I've also heard stories about cars picked up from dealers that didn't always have 100% charge so best to be prepared and then you can relax. It's the nicest drive experience I've had so sure you will enjoy it...

I run the ZS but I would have thought driving steadily you MG5 owners could easily get 180 miles?

Best to have a type2 cable to hand.... just in case
I've picked my MG5 up today, 160 miles, 95% of it on the M1 down from Leeds. After the 160 miles with heating/AC off, (it was a pleasant day until it rained). I got back with allegedly 35 miles of range left, but I certainly wouldn't have wanted to have to drive further! I was mainly doing about 60, but did do a few stretches at 70.
I did take a type 2 with me just in case and loaded the Electric Highway app in case I needed to charge on the M1.