Android Auto

katkin

Standard Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG5
I know there have been problems with android auto to a degree.

I connect via USB to my phone - it connects straight away. By the time i have put a postcode in for example to the map it has stopped.
My phone says it is still connected but when i press the icon on the infotainment screen it tells me to connect via USB (which it already is and nothing changed since initially connected)
It is essentially completely unusable
any solutions

How old is the USB cable?

I've been using AA in various cars for 6 years and it equally sensitive to loosing connection for all cars I've driven. I must have gone through at least one cable a year. I would go for the wireless option but I like to charge my phone and I've filled the other USB ports with gizmos!

brand new - we bought a new cable as accidentaly left one in our old car when part ex!

@katkin

From what you write I assume you are using your phone as a SatNav, perhaps with Google maps. Is that correct? Or are you using the car's built-in SatNav?

If the former, are you aware that AA (at least with Google maps) allows you to speak the destination and have maps find it and create the route? At least that is the case in my pre-facelift 5.

On the steering wheel, right hand side, lower set of buttons, is one that looks a little like a near-complete circle; pressing that activates voice input to Google maps. I can then simply say "Navigate ....." and maps searches for your destination and then provides a route. I've never tried with just a postcode but might be worth you checking?

One thing I have found, based on other posts here re AA and cables is that the quality of the latter is crucial, but also that any "movement" of the cable when it is plugged into the phone and AA is active, can easily disrupt the connection! My "solution" is always to plug in the phone AND place it in the small "pouch" alongside the centre console in the car BEFORE turning the car on.