Charging EV & Battery

tjalana

Novice Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG4 SE SR
Hi,Can anyone tell me if i can charge my solar battery and electric car at same time from the grid. If i can Would I still get to charge the car at 7kw or would it reduce because house battery is charging. Have a solis inverter with a 5kw puredrive batt, zappi being installed on Friday.
would the 5k Puredrive battery be able to charge full in a 2 hour window.
How would i stop the battery when full from charging the car or does the charge setting in the Zappi stop this.

hope this makes sense what i'm asking as i've very little knowledge of this.
Thanks

There are various ways to accomplish not discharging the battery into the car, the easiest is to have the Zappi split off with its own CU, so the battery doesn't "see" it. Depending on what tariff you choose, you can also set the battery to charge at the same time as the car, which achieves the same object.

I have a Powerwall and "dumb" charge point, so using Octopus GO, just set car and battery to charge on the 12:30 - 04:30 cheap time slot.

There are various ways to accomplish not discharging the battery into the car, the easiest is to have the Zappi split off with its own CU, so the battery doesn't "see" it. Depending on what tariff you choose, you can also set the battery to charge at the same time as the car, which achieves the same object.

I have a Powerwall and "dumb" charge point, so using Octopus GO, just set car and battery to charge on the 12:30 - 04:30 cheap time slot.
Thank you for the reply,so if i have the Zappi split off with its own CU,can i still use the Zappi from the solar panels on a good day(just to have the option there).would i have to adjust Zappi settings or just plug in and it will it automatically pull off the panels if prioritize.