Charging keeps stopping for no apparent reason (unless you know better)

ZS Pete

Standard Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG ZS EV
I am new to MG, just got my ZS Trophy Long Range a couple of weeks ago. When I plug into my home 7.5kW charger the vehicle takes a decent charge for a short time and when I go back to look at the app the charge has stopped and I have to manually restart again. This happens a few times during a charge, there are no limits set and as far as I can see it should run to 100% without a break. I have only used 50kW charge point once and that had no similar issue. Any help from experienced owners would be happily received.

It is set to 80% at the moment but has stopped at 55, 61 & 70 so far. I tried setting to100% last time I charged with much the same result.

If it's not the car stopping the charge then it's the charger. What charger do you have and perhaps it's a setting on there? Another potential problem that people have experienced is powerline adaptors in their house affecting the charger.

Some smart chargers will pause the charge if demand on the local network is high

My charger will not let me charge between 8am & 11am and again between 4pm & 10pm due to "EV Smart Regulations". Maybe yours has something similar?

Speak to an electrician, but mine originally was connected to the ordinary mains and I had a similar problem. I heard about a separate earthing rod, so I had one installed and all was fine. That was 3 years ago.

This may be what I’ve had. Try it on a supermarket 7.5kw charger. If that doesn’t work it’s the car at fault. Had to have the chargeport replaced on mine. Fortunately it was only a few days wait for the part. (Mine was ok on fast charger too.. just very unreliable at home and eventually refused to charge on any slow charger. Drove me nuts)