Demister

BitOrange

Novice Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG5
Hi all. Just registered as I have a question.
I have been driving an MG5 for over 2 years and loved it. The one thing that spoils the experience is having to demist the windscreen over and over again when driving after any rainfall.
Is this a common experience amongst other drivers and is there any tweak to improve the situation?
Grateful for any comments.

Forget the air conditioning and use this ... works a treat ... applied to inside of windscreen and side windows, never needed to use aircon to de-mist, except in the most extreme cases. I was sceptical, but it has to be seen to be believed :cool:

Rain-X.jpeg

Last edited:
Upvote 0
I have been driving an MG5 for over 2 years and loved it. The one thing that spoils the experience is having to demist the windscreen over and over again when driving after any rainfall.
Is this a common experience amongst other drivers and is there any tweak to improve the situation?
Do you have the system set on recirc or auto? set to air from outside and problem should disapear.

Upvote 0
Thanks, Robf.
Good advice. I've just found a useful old thread from Dec 2021 on this problem so will try to avoid recirculating the same moist air!

Use the air conditioning and leave it on.
Thanks for your advice.

Forget the air conditioning and use this ... works at treat ... applied to inside of windscreen and side windows, never needed to use aircon to de-mist, except in the most extreme cases. I was sceptical, but it has to be seen to be believed :cool:

View attachment 20676
OK, Tommy, thanks. Another weapon in the battle for clear vision.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Hi
Part of the problem is the build up of moister on floor mats and wet coats
Unlike the heater in the ICE cars the air does not always get warm enough to remove the moister content from the air in the car.