Home charger recommendations

dspencer12345

Established Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG ZS EV
Hi,

I'm a week away from taking ownership of a new ZS Long range, and don't want to spend too much on a charger. Recommendations?

In a normal week, I drive about 120 miles. Could I get away with a 3 pin plug charger? It says on the MG website that they can over heat. Is that the car or the charger?! Is this true? Does anyone else charge using just 3 pin?

Thanks!

I've been charging EV's with the 3 pin plug for 3 years now. The plug does get warm, but the box with the lights on takes care of all the protection. Just make sure the socket is rated for 10 amps continuos load.

I've been charging EV's with the 3 pin plug for 3 years now. The plug does get warm, but the box with the lights on takes care of all the protection. Just make sure the socket is rated for 10 amps continuos load.
My concern is that it would have to be on an extension lead, about 10m from the socket. Not ideal.

I found that a three pin plug charging took way too long and made prep a liitle unpredicable, YMMV. 15 amp if available may help a little…

I ended up with a 7kw Wallbox Pulsar Plus & have used this for about three years now, no issues & has its own scheduling app if needed. In all, makes charging very predicatable: 40ks per hour, charge off peak over night & the car is ready to go next morning.

I have a 3.4kw plug in one from ebay. It run a separate circuit for it in my house with a 25a breaker so it doesn't interfere with the other household appliances.

Had originally planned to get a proper 7kw one, but it's really not needed.

I have a 3.4kw plug in one from ebay. It run a separate circuit for it in my house with a 25a breaker so it doesn't interfere with the other household appliances.

Had originally planned to get a proper 7kw one, but it's really not needed.