MG 4, 2 gears? 🤔

KaloyanP

Established Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG5
I have been wondering whether MG4 has 2 gears based on Johnny Smith's review where he says that it feels like it changes gears at around 40 mph and then there is this snippet, please see the attached file. I am not an expert by any means, just if someone knows anything it will be great to find out if this this is the case. I would imagine if there is a second gear the efficiency in high speed will be pretty good.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20220912_203612_com.google.android.youtube.jpg
    Screenshot_20220912_203612_com.google.android.youtube.jpg
    112.3 KB · Views: 250
Last edited:
I doubt it. MG would've advertised this (like they do on the Marvel R) and I would have expected a much better WLTP range and/or much higher top speed.

In fact, as a German (Autobahn and all), I'm pretty bummed that the MG4 tops out a 100mph / 160km/h, while the (on paper) less powerful ZSEV does 175, the MG5 does 185 and the Marvel R 200km/h .

I was all set on ordering the MG4 when orders open tomorrow morning, but this is one of the things that has me second guessing if I should be spending 9k more on a Marvel R instead.

I have experienced the German autobahn recently with my last EV Kia eNiro, it was really nice driving without speed. Back to the MG4, I have placed an order for the trophy trim regardless and because it is going to be my 4th EV I would like to find out everything about this car. For example I couldn't find what the drag coefficient is and also the charging curve, I know it peaks at 135 kWh but how long it maintains this charging spread for?

I wonder if it's the electronics simulating what Johnny felt? It's possible to build in a change of output at a certain speed/throttle input without the actual need for a second gear.

It is very unlikely since only high end cars like Tycan's have 2 gears but I just got curious.