Newbie questions

Welshman100

Standard Member
Reaction score
Driving
Not an MG
Hi All, newbie here so please excuse any silly questions. I took a mg5 LR for a test drive yesterday and was very impressed, to the point where I want one. But have a couple of questions from people actually living with the car, not media or salesmen :)

1. What is it actually like living with an ev, practicality of charging when out and about etc, can you use any public charging points?
2. What is a granny charger that I've heard people talking about?
3. Are the range figures realistic in day to day use
4. Has anyone put bars in the boot for a dog to go in?
5. Has anyone got a black colour they could post a pic of please

Thanks for your time

Hi All, newbie here so please excuse any silly questions. I took a mg5 LR for a test drive yesterday and was very impressed, to the point where I want one. But have a couple of questions from people actually living with the car, not media or salesmen :)

1. What is it actually like living with an ev, practicality of charging when out and about etc, can you use any public charging points?

Thanks for your time
  1. Daily I do few miles, charge once a week or so. Tend to use local free DC charger and top up at home or free AC - lucky my local authority doesn’t charge for these. Done a few 100+ mile trips and one 275 trip (each way). Trick with public charging seems to be planning - try and stop where there are lots of chargers so you don’t have to wait.
  2. Granny charger is the three pin plug that connects to started mains socket - chargers at 3kW and some people find the plug can heat up. Mixed opinions about using as main charger or as emergency only.
  3. EV-Database seems fairly accurate in their figures based on speed and temperature. Just remember the faster you drive, the more energy and reduced range. Same with load. Find your sweet spot that suits your needs and driving style.