Only getting 3kW on 22kW charger

ggarver

Novice Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG4 SE SR
Hi all!
I am new here and also a new driver! My first car is the MG4 electric, so I am very pleased with it. We had it for now 2 months.
I am still learning how to deal with the features of the car, etc and I am currently trying to master a bit better the issue with charging.
I came this morning to work by car (battery was warm) and went to the 22kW pole available near the office. I am surprised that after almost 5hrs of charge, it only managed to charge 28% (15kWish). I've seen in other forums that it might be because we are using the cable that came with the car and that one does not allow for "quick" charging...
Any ideas?
We live in the Netherlands by the way!
Thank you all!

The MG4 will only charge at a maximum of 6.6kW/h on AC due to the limit of the onboard charger although the early LR models could manage 11kW/h.
The 22kW/h pole might be sharing its power with other poles and if they are being used that would also cut down the kW available.

It would help if you looked at the cable and checked the specs. If it is rated for 32A then it should give 6.5kW (ish) charge rate from a 22kW 3-phase charge point. But as Ian says above, if the power is being shared then each side may only get 16A per phase (11kW), which would mean you would only get ~3.5kW charge rate on your single phase (which equates to about 3kW into the car).

The MG4 will only charge at a maximum of 6.6kW/h on AC due to the limit of the onboard charger although the early LR models could manage 11kW/h.
The 22kW/h pole might be sharing its power with other poles and if they are being used that would also cut down the kW available.
I'm sorry, this isn't a dig at you, but please use correct units. kW/h does not exist. Charging power is in kW, energy in kWh, thus you could (VW does, but don't get me started on that) write charging power as 7 kWh/h.