Ordered an MG4, due in 2 weeks

Dodgemdriver

Standard Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG4 SE SR
Hi, I'm a newbie here. I've had a Toyota Yaris Cross Hybrid for 6 months. It's a great car, but I wanted to get a fully electric car instead. I had a test drive in an MG4 and liked it, so I placed an order for an SE standard range. I spoke to the dealer today and he says it will be around 2 weeks before I get the car.
My brother has had an MG ZS EV for 3 years and it has been reliable and trouble free, so I wasn't worried about getting an MG myself.
But I'm starting to wonder whether I've made a mistake in ordering this car, because it seems from posts on this forum that there are a lot of issues with the MG4 and that MG Motor are apparently indifferent to customer's problems with their cars. It's all quite concerning. I'm wondering if I should cancel my order to be honest. My Toyota Hybrid is reliable and has had no issues whatsoever in the 6 months I've had it. I work as a coach driver with a commute to work of 26 miles and I absolutely have to be at work on time to run the services as scheduled. I can't afford to be late or be without a car because of problems and failures on the vehicle.
Should I be this concerned? Or am I worrying unnecessarily? 😟

You are worrying unnecessarily. People with a problem shout the loudest and most often.
Most of the problems were on the first batch of cars and they seem to have been sorted now apart from a couple of software glitches with Bluetooth connectivity and radio reception but that seems to have been sorted with the latest update.
The biggest problem is with some dealers who take your money and offer poor after sales service so make sure you find a good one which your brother seems to have done.

Thanks for the reassurance. I really do like the MG4 and hopefully you are right and all should be well with it. Possibly I focused too much on the negative posts here.