Poor efficiency (or is it just the cold?)

hharzel

Established Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG4 SE SR
Hi all,

Brand new MG4 SR owner here. As an EV newbie I'd like to know if its normal to have this low efficiency at this time of year. Below is a typical shot of my work trip that is about 12 miles, the average speed being 39mls/h with the energy consumption of 2.6mls/kWh. It's been quite consistent for the whole month I've had the car. Temperature's around 0-5 degrees celsius here in central Finland, no battery heating used, AC set to 25 celsius deg and fan set to 5, tire pressure normal.

Because every car is unique, how much variation is there in efficiency between different units (LFP batteries) of the same model in general, or is it so negligible that it makes no sense to even think about it? There's been some issues with the software so I really hope the hardware's OK.

1696969687618.png

LFP batteries don’t like the cold very much.
intelligent battery heating might even improve things or it might not. Worth a try.

LFP batteries don’t like the cold very much.
intelligent battery heating might even improve things or it might not. Worth a try.
What’s your commute like?
63 kph average over 20km on a straight flat motorway isn’t the same as a twisty hilly road

Judging by your picture your tyre pressure is low. This does make some difference. Try setting your driving mode to eco and heating to auto 25 celcius is ok. I suppose you get it colder earlier than we do in Ireland .

Ambient temperature, driving in Normal instead of Eco, aircon/heating settings, tyre pressures, the topology of the commute, other traffic, and driving style will all affect the range.

My usual commute I average about 4miles/kWh but have seen this drop in the mornings due to the lower temperatures. It has got down to 2.6 miles/kWh on some mornings. Drive home in the evening is currently better as warmer in than the morning.