Should I move or should I stay.

JohnR

Standard Member
Reaction score
Driving
Not an MG
I've been an EV driver for the last four years, ZOE and now LEAF. I'm very tempted once my current PCP ends to move onto the MG4 (probably TROPHY). Has anyone out there made that change and if so was it a good move?

I changed from a 2018 R90 Zoe Dynamique spec to a 2023 (72 Plate) MG4 Trophy Phase 1 and the difference was night and day. I also have experience with a 2019 Leaf N-Connecta 39kWh. For starters, it was much easier to find a comfortable driving position compared to the Zoe. I also prefer the infotainment (although I mostly use CarPlay), however I do miss physical climate controls. Cabin noise is better than the Zoe and about on par with the Leaf. Boot space is better in the Nissan but the MG4 is fine for what I need. The main benefits for me are range, rapid charging speeds, drive/performance and technology (mainly adaptive cruise which I love); in the summer I found I was able to reach the WLTP range, the rapid charging far exceeds that of both other cars, and the MG4 handles like a dream and is very comfortable. My MG4 doesn’t have one pedal drive which is a shame but I know that newer versions do. I think the MG4 is a great example of how much EV’s have improved over the years and the benefits of the car sitting on a modern and bespoke EV architecture!

I started with a Zoe, then a Leaf and now a red MG4 Trophy, its streets ahead of both, just brilliant to drive. I do not regret it one bit.

I have a good friend who has a 2020 Leaf, and it seems like a lovely car and it has features the MG4 doesn't have, However I haven't driven it, and everyone says the way the MG4 drives beats the Leaf into a cocked hat.

Also, you'll get rid of the CHAdeMO problem without having to shell out hundreds of pounds for an adaptor.