Sudden range drop in MG4 Trophy LR

MrLukus

Standard Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG4 Trophy LR
I got my MG4 a few weeks ago and I'm loving it. However did have a question regarding a trip I did the other day.

I drove up to London (Wembley) from Eastleigh (and back) on Saturday, which is 155 miles round trip. I left with 100% charge (from home charger), got to London fine, I think I had about 70% left. The drive back was mostly motorway (A40, M25, M3), doing 70mph, pretty wet and rainy and about 10 degrees outside. I noticed that between 40% and 20% the battery seems to be getting absolutely eaten up. Like 5 miles of range lost for every 1 mile I was travelling. Then once it hit 20%, it seems to go back to "normal". Is this a normal thing to expect? It's not really a problem, just was a little worrying as I saw the miles going down so fast. I turned off the AC and put it in eco to make sure I'd make it, but that might just be because I'm brand new to EVs and still have a bit of anxiety.

I made it home with about 30 miles left, so the range I actually got was probably about 185, which I think is probably about right at this time of year? I was just surprised at how differently the range seems to reduce at certain SoC. Is this normal? Will the range calculator get better at predicting this the longer I drive the car?

It is called a Guessometer (GOM) for a reason! It will get more accurate if you have a single driver with a consistent style, otherwise it is a rough guide only.

It isn't a flat curve, typically the bottom half lasts less long than the top half but as you say the last bit at the bottom lasts well.

It is called a Guessometer (GOM) for a reason! It will get more accurate if you have a single driver with a consistent style, otherwise it is a rough guide only.

It isn't a flat curve, typically the bottom half lasts less long than the top half but as you say the last bit at the bottom lasts well.