Car being sent back to MG…

rigby44

Established Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG4 SE SR
Our MG4 is being sent back to MG, as the dealer cannot fix the window seal/air/water issues and there is a loud audible ‘knocking’ from the dashboard when driving.

I’m fearful I know the answer, but has anyone had their car sent back to MG for a fix - and if so how was the experience?

Anyone guys? Anyone had to send their car back to MG yet?

Our MG4 is being sent back to MG, as the dealer cannot fix the window seal/air/water issues and there is a loud audible ‘knocking’ from the dashboard when driving.

I’m fearful I know the answer, but has anyone had their car sent back to MG for a fix - and if so how was the experience?
To answer your question, I have plenty of experience.
My first experience was to return to the dealership I bought the car from, only to find they had no 'service & parts' department (as the sign in the building stated) and I had to go to Volvo next door. Volvo contacted MG CS who refused the work.
Then I found a dealership someone recommended to me, but 70 miles away. However the difference was chalk & cheese, they are superb pulled out all the stops to help.
So, it depends on the dealership, it's hit and miss to a degree, bar recommendations. The issue is MG sells the car to a dealership and hence tries to wash their hands of them, bar any large warranty claims.
You could try another dealership if the first cannot fix it. But if it remains an issue they cannot fix then look into your 'Consumer rights act 2015' and consider rejecting the car.

To answer your question, I have plenty of experience.
My first experience was to return to the dealership I bought the car from, only to find they had no 'service & parts' department (as the sign in the building stated) and I had to go to Volvo next door. Volvo contacted MG CS who refused the work.