Granny charger extension lead.

We are going on a road trip, (Whitby from kent). A couple of places we are staying in, I'm planning to granny charge and a extension lead might be needed. I'm no expert and I don't want it to melt!

I occasionally use a 45M extension cable to charge with no issues whatsoever, just remember not to leave any spare cable coiled.
PS the one you are looking at is much cheaper at Screwfix if you have one local :)

I occasionally use a 45M extension cable to charge with no issues whatsoever, just remember not to leave any spare cable coiled.
PS the one you are looking at is much cheaper at Screwfix if you have one local :)
The one from Wickes is weather proof, hence the higher price

Just make sure you fully unwind it as you are pushing it to its maximum.
Not so long ago I was using a power tool, was on for about an hour solid, had only unwound the extension cable by a few metres...... it tripped the protection on the extension lead and when I touched the cable it was so hot I couldn't hold it, the cable was so flexible when it was hot it was amazing lol.
Don't do it lol!!!!

I think this type of extension lead is designed for powering the likes of electric power tools, lawn mowers / strimers for about a hour or so.
I don’t think they where every intended for use on a “Granny” unit pulling a constant higher load over a long time frame.
The temptation is to only unwind enough cable to reach the socket outlet and plug in the lead.
I would never recommend doing this !.
I do not object to the occasional us of an extension cable when there is no other option of course, but I believe there use should be limited.
I have made my own extension cable and have only used it on a couple of occasions when there has been no other means of grabbing a quick “top up” and only for a couple of hours.
The flex on my home made extension lead is rated at 2.5mm and maybe seen as “over the top”.