MG4 1 year on, the good and bad

mradamjames

Standard Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG4 SE SR
Ok, so lets do good stuff first.

We got the orange trophy edition, all bells and whistles.

This car is a dream to drive, excellent handling and goes like 💩 of a shovel. Have driven a LOT, in all kinds of weather (blizzard weather in Sweden too) and it’s been great. Really can’t fault it in that regard. Also, of course it looks rad.

The bad.

Windscreen wipers for some reason don’t jet water to a large central part of window, leaving a persistent dry patch. Excessive amount of wiper wash gathers on driver side and seems quite inefficient. Have taken to dealer, more or less fobbed off.

Infotainment. IMPOSSIBLE to have a second phone access or work with it. Can be charged via lead but car simply won’t accept a second phone - despite having done everything imaginable, really. I’m not a tech newbie, it just refuses. So, for one year my partner has had to listen to Swedish radio when she drives. This is crap. Reported to dealer, fobbed off.

Also, the infotainment system is just super glitchy, intermittently unreliable and generally a bit annoying.

Can’t switch off aggressive land keeping assist. Every time you get in the car, every SINGLE time, you have to go through a few menus and turn off. This is just infuriating and actually quite dangerous as you often do this whilst driving.

Hearing system. Intermittently doesn’t work. Believe me when I say this is c r a p p p y. We have had to cancel a couple of trips simply because driving 45 mins in -12 with cold air blowing at you feels idiotic and is extremely uncomfortable. Have reported to dealer, they have installed update. Still occasionally doesn’t work.

The app. WHY CAN ONLY ONE PERSON LOG IN? This app is just terrible. Slow, glitchy, unreliable.