Zappi charged delayed

Harves

Standard Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG5
Can anyone tell me why when I plug my zappi charger into my mg5 long range after a couple of minutes it stops charging and displays charge delayed , I’ve had this car about 3 weeks now and had nothing but problems when charging ,my last mg5 was the shorter range one and never had a problem charging it

Is the car or the Zappi controlling the charge?
Here’s where I get embarrassed simply put I don’t know what you mean, I’m with octopus on octopus go tariff with my last mg5 I used to finish work( I’m a taxi driver) plug the car in leave it and the car would charge between 0030-0430 the times are set on the zappi ,as I say this is the long range mg5 and it doesn’t matter what setting I select ie fast, eco or eco+ the most it will charge is 16 to 17 kWh the the zappi displays charged delayed . Any help would be greatly appreciated

Last edited by a moderator:
@Harves

Which "version" of the MG5 do you now have, the pre-facelift or the facelift?

I'm going to guess you previously had the pre, which doesn't have any control over charging settings in the car itself, but now have the facelift which does!

If yours is a facelift, you need to check somewhere in the menu settings and find the one that, as I understand it, turns off any control the car has of your charging. Leave it all to the Zappi!

One important caveat: I have the pre-facelift so my knowledge of this problem is entirely what I have gleaned from other posts in this forum!

Are the settings on your Zappi similar to these?
Screenshot_20240327_153121_myenergi.jpg

Last edited:
@Harves

Which "version" of the MG5 do you now have, the pre-facelift or the facelift?

I'm going to guess you previously had the pre, which doesn't have any control over charging settings in the car itself, but now have the facelift which does!