Car ignoring 80% charge limit

stevegant

Standard Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG4 Trophy LR
MG4 Trophy. I've set the charge limit in the car to 80%. My off-peak charging schedule is set within my charger and not in the car. Last night the car started charging at midinight in accordance with my schedule. However, the charge continued up to 98% despite me having set a charge limit of 80% in the car. For info I've been doing the same with my Tesla for 18 months on the same charger and all works fine but it seems that just the MG is ignoring the 80% limit?

I was just heading to the forum to moan about something similar.

I set the charge level to 80% in the app and it works, then I'll forget about it (set and forget eh) and when I'm not paying attention the car will charge to 100% and If I check the app it has moved the slider back to 100%. Quite annoying.

MG4 Trophy too.

Have you checked what the slider says in the app?

I was just heading to the forum to moan about something similar.

I set the charge level to 80% in the app and it works, then I'll forget about it (set and forget eh) and when I'm not paying attention the car will charge to 100% and If I check the app it has moved the slider back to 100%. Quite annoying.

MG4 Trophy too.

Have you checked what the slider says in the app?
I've checked the app and also in the car and both say 80%. I have moved it up to 100% and then back down to 80% and will test next time we need to charge.

I leave mine set to 80% (trophy), but occasionally the car seems to reset on its own and put it back to 100%. It’s a pain to have to remember to check what the setting is before plugging in. The software can be very temperamental

Interestingly I had it the other way around.

Yesterday evening I set the car to charge to 100% as I intended do do a long trip today.
This morning when I wanted to leave the car was charged to 60%. I even double checked in both the car and the app to see if the limit was set to 100%.