OldieBaldie

Standard Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG5
Hi, I am new to the world of EV driving and, well in all honesty, it's been a real headache so far.
My main problem is fast charging. So far I have had more unsuccessful attempts than success at fast charging and I wanted to ask the community if this is a common problem.
Faulty charge points aside, I tend to have issues with contact payments or communication between car and charger.
It also, only seems to want to fast charge when battery levels are above 10%.
I'm hoping it is just a case of me being a bit of a plonker, which it could well be..

Hi, when you say Fast charging do you mean type2 AC?
Rapid DC CCS charging is quite different and ideally you go from 20%-80%.
You should be able to use both from a low SOC.

Hi, when you say Fast charging do you mean type2 AC?
Rapid DC CCS charging is quite different and ideally you go from 20%-80%.
You should be able to use both from a low SOC.
Hi, thanks for the reply. I do indeed mean Rapid DC CCS. I just seem to be finding it quite challenging. Perhaps it's just bad luck. Thanks for confirming that you should be able to charge from a low state.

Your contactless problems with a card may just be down to your bank wanting a pin input, which very few chargers have the facilities for.

Of the rest, Osprey, Gridserve, Ionity and MER have given little problems. I avoid Geniepoint like the plague. Can't comment on others as I've never used them.

On the charging front, I've found that plugging in before doing anything else is generally fine. Once plugged in, using the contactless on the card generally starts the charge.

Rate of charging is controlled by the car, usually. I've seen up to 60Kw/hr charge rate on my 5LR pre-facelift, but mostly settles around 45 to 48kw/hr rate and tails back as it gets nearer 80 -85% battery level.

Hope this gives you a starting point to work out whats going wrong.