Fast charging

TrevH

Standard Member
Reaction score
Driving
MG HS PHEV
Can I fast charge the battery on my HS hybrid at a charging point? I have the correct type 2charging lead? Or do I have to leave it there for 5 hours to fully charge?

Hi, Fast charging uses the type2 AC cable which can take a few hours. Rapid Charging uses the CCS DC connection and will be done in 30 minutes.

Hi, Fast charging uses the type2 AC cable which can take a few hours. Rapid Charging uses the CCS DC connection and will be done in 30 minutes.
Hi, many thanks. I’m new to these hybrid cars so forgive my ignorance but what is a CCS DC connection and do I need to buy another cable or are they on the charging units?

Hi, many thanks. I’m new to these hybrid cars so forgive my ignorance but what is a CCS DC connection and do I need to buy another cable or are they on the charging units?
CCS is the type of large fixed charging gun that you will find on a rapid charging unit.
No you do not need one of these cables, they are tethered to the unit.
PHEV’s are happy on a A/C public post or at home on a wall box or even the supplied Granny cable with the car, as the charging speeds are low at 3.5 Kw’s.
I owned a PHEV for four years and never really bothered public charging TBH.
Never seen the point in tying up the charger when you have a petrol engine on board.
Leave the charger free for full EV’s was my train of thought.

I wonder, is it worthwhile putting a mg charging box on the wall for my mg hs phev. I have just been using the granny charger at 1.8k, so will a wallbox charge it at 3.6kw ? A 7kw wallbox costs just under $1k plus install herein NZ.

Last edited:
You could be right I’m not sure myself hopefully someone on here can advise. I will look into it and let you know.